It’s been months now with me riding around on the B72 from 1975, so I thought a proper update was in order. For a saddle that’s four years older than me it really is in good shape!
When I first installed it at the beginning of winter I did two coats of proofide a week apart, and the second was very light. I rode it around a lot but the flaps were always flipping out and chaffing my thighs. I went to a couple of leather repair stores in town, but the quotes to punch a few holes down either side were ludicrous ($50+). So I just drilled five holes down each side, measuring the distance of each from the nose as well as from the edge to try to keep them equal on both sides. I laced it up with a long shoe string and voila! Any time I want to make an adjustment to the seat angle I have to untie the laces, but otherwise it has worked out great and the seat immediately became much more comfortable. The tension under my butt bones feels perfect, like a supple leather hammock. My thighs no longer ache after riding around town all day. There is still a little tension left to tighten should I need to do so, but right now I’ve got it right where I want it. I rode this saddle all winter here in Maine and I kept a bag over it during ugly weather. Thus far it hasn’t stretched or suffered any ills. Plus I’ve received several compliments on the saddle in particular.

Author: GoodToBLee

I live in Portland, Maine. I read a lot, I bike a lot. I have too many hobbies and I'm trying to cool out on that. I have a constant stream of consciousness going on in my mind, and oftentimes I find it picks up a theme. Sometimes it really runs with that theme and it will become a part of my life to one extent or another. I'm going to try to write about that, whatever that may prove to mean.

Leave a Reply

