I’ve been working on this Motobecane for a really wonderful and helpful coworker at my former bakery. She has always been willing to cover for others, she has learned everything I’ve tried to teach her, and she has always made my job seem easier. She had a few bikes from which to choose, and she went with this old mixte. The Motobecane needed some work, but it wasn’t in the worst shape I’ve seen. The rear hub needed overhauling. The bottom bracket needed overhauling. The derailleurs were all gunked up and had to be removed, cleaned, and lubed. I cleaned up the frame as much as I could while most of the parts were off, then I put it all back together and voila! A tiny bit of tuning and it seems ready to ride. I put some air in the tires, but it’s late and dark and I was up before 5am today, so the test ride will have to be tomorrow. More pictures to come…

Author: GoodToBLee

I live in Portland, Maine. I read a lot, I bike a lot. I have too many hobbies and I'm trying to cool out on that. I have a constant stream of consciousness going on in my mind, and oftentimes I find it picks up a theme. Sometimes it really runs with that theme and it will become a part of my life to one extent or another. I'm going to try to write about that, whatever that may prove to mean.

Leave a Reply

