Gold Sprints stationary bike race at Oxbow Brewing

   

   This past Saturday the new bike club in town, the WHARF Cats, put on its first planned event at Oxbow Brewing on Washington Ave. They had two stationary bikes with identical gearing set up on rollers, which were hooked up to a computer. People could then race head-to-head in a virtual 250 meter race. The results were displayed on a large screen behind them, so the audience had to participate, shouting out the countdowns and wildly flailing their arms to tell the racers when they could stop pedaling. And that was necessary because there was no resistance on the rollers, so racers were really focusing on spinning their legs and not much else. 


   After each race the board would show your time and your top speed, which usually landed between 65 and 75mph. 

   Racers showed up and signed in between 7:00 and 8:00, brackets were filled in, and then the races began. I won my first race (as well as a preliminary test race…ahem) but lost my second bout. Although I lost to the eventual winner, so I can’t feel too bad. But then again, first prize was a brand new, unpainted track frame in whatever size you required, so I can feel a tiny bit bad.  


   There were buttons for the WHARF Cats and buttons for the Gold Sprints event itself. And some really cool wood cut printed posters. There are several talented artists and creative types in this new bike club, and it shows. 

   The group was in great spirits since the beer was amazing, as always.  And the space was really perfect for the event. I really enjoy Oxbow on a lot of levels, and I’m definitely not a big beer guy. But they do great things and I love the staff in general. Plus it feels like a speakeasy that I’m cool enough to know about. Just explaining its location to people makes them think I must be “in the know”. 

   Overall this was a wonderful, fun, successful event that helped benefit the Portland Gear Hub’s move from St John St to Washington Ave. They will be relocating to the old Casale’s Garage sometime next month. To see what other events theWHARF Cats have in the works you can keep an eye on this site or look around at all the bulletin boards in town on a regular basis. For now, at least. 

Author: GoodToBLee

I live in Portland, Maine. I read a lot, I bike a lot. I have too many hobbies and I'm trying to cool out on that. I have a constant stream of consciousness going on in my mind, and oftentimes I find it picks up a theme. Sometimes it really runs with that theme and it will become a part of my life to one extent or another. I'm going to try to write about that, whatever that may prove to mean.

Leave a Reply

