The Great Maine Bike Swap was…pretty great!

   

   The Bike Swap was this morning at the USM Sullivan Center. The line began around 8, and by 10 when it officially began the line had filled out very nicely. There were over 1,000 bikes inside and more kid’s bikes and bargain bikes for less than $50 outside. There was a coffee truck from The Gorham Grind. Eventually there was pizza for the volunteers. So really everything you need to survive in this crazy, mixed up world.    


   Just before ten they made their announcements and then got the line moving. Within five minutes there were people coming out the doors with bikes, giving them the once over with the on-site mechanics, then taking them out for a test ride and, one hopes, falling instantly in love with the new bicycle in their lives. 


   As a volunteer I can tell you that the flow of people didn’t stop for the full three hours of the event. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves, both volunteers and attendees. Lots of smiles and giddy excitement as folks queued up for their test rides. Several people commented on how nice it was to be able to grab a bike inside, then grab a helmet and a lock at one of the booths outside. It’s a regular one stop shop. 


   I really enjoy the bike swap as an event!  The folks who work it are always very bikey people in the best possible way. They’re all big fans of bikes and cycling, and they all get so animated when they get to talk about bikes with someone else who is at least almost equally interested. As a bicycle-type person myself I understand this emotional response. Pretty much all of the people in my life with whom I’m the closest have minimal to no interest in bikes, and many of them seem to find it strange how high the percentage of bicycle related books and movies I ingest on a regular basis. They also find it difficult to imagine that so many such books and movies exist. 

“Didn’t you already read that book?”

“No. That was a different book about cycling infrastructure.”  

“So <pregnant pause> does this one cover a lot of new ground?”

“Ummmm…”

  And so many people who show up there really want to get people on bikes. It’s the best part of the whole event for me. I only sell bikes that are as fresh and as road ready as possible there, and I always include a new bottle of lube and a small multi tool for adjustments because I don’t want to leave any room for excuses not to get out and ride one of the bikes I’ve worked on. Any time I see one of my former bikes locked up around town (or being ridden, though that happens less often) I get a swelling of pride.  Egoitis, some might call it. But it fills me with joy to know that I took a useful object that had been lacking for use, fixed it up and made it as desireable as possible, and that someone else is doing the exact thing that I had hoped for; making good use of that really useful object.  It makes all my efforts feel worthwhile. It makes me feel appreciated, even if I only see it locked up outside the library one random afternoon. And it is that kind of sentiment that everyone at the bike swap seems to share. I love attending and volunteering because I find myself surrounded by kindred spirits. 

   If you would like to feel that way you should do any number of the following:

-Continue to read this blog.  

-Check out http://www.Bikemaine.org (or your local equivalent) and see what they’re working on. While you’re there maybe make a donation or consider joining. 

-Keep an eye out for upcoming bike events in your area. The swap is great fun, but I also love our local alley cat races. And the Gold Sprints was a blast-and-a-half. 

Author: GoodToBLee

I live in Portland, Maine. I read a lot, I bike a lot. I have too many hobbies and I'm trying to cool out on that. I have a constant stream of consciousness going on in my mind, and oftentimes I find it picks up a theme. Sometimes it really runs with that theme and it will become a part of my life to one extent or another. I'm going to try to write about that, whatever that may prove to mean.

Leave a Reply

