Tandemom!

   My mother flew in from Oklahoma to spend a few days with us before absconding with my son. It’s alright, he’ll be back in THREE WEEKS!  But while she was here I took advantage of a bright and lovely day off work and with the kiddo at Rock (‘n’ Roll) camp to trick my mother into taking an 11 mile ride around town on the tandem.  

   We first went just around the corner for our traditional mother-son pedicures. When we arrived my mom was already worried that she wouldn’t make it since her legs were starting to sing her a song. I asked about where she felt sore and then adjusted the seat height and told her “that should do it”. She looked at me with doubt enough on her face to maybe be called shade, but we left it at that and got our feet did. Afterwards we went across the street to Woodford Food & Bev for a snack, which was great, and some small talk with the host, also great. 


   We went and hopped back on the bike. My mom asked how far to the bakery where I work and I told her three miles. We set off and she immediately started talking about how much her legs weren’t bothering her anymore and how she had been so sure they would feel like jelly all day. We made it halfway around Back Cove and took off down Washington. We stopped at the Gear Hub to show my mom around briefly, then we went on to Standard. 

   I gave my mother the royal tour, and she got to meet nearly the full cast of characters. I verified that the GM is a full two inches taller than my mom, much to everyone’s delight. We grabbed all the bread and pastries we could stuff into my backpack and headed home to let the dog out.  At this point we had done about 8 miles. Then we took the tandem to pick up the kid from Rock camp and the three of us rode home together, his bike having been left there that morning. 

   So in total 11+ miles for my mom, who hasn’t ridden a bike since the mid-80’s, I’m told. Now I have to keep an eye on the Tulsa Craigslist site for potential tandems that my parents could ride together. What could go wrong?!

Author: GoodToBLee

I live in Portland, Maine. I read a lot, I bike a lot. I have too many hobbies and I'm trying to cool out on that. I have a constant stream of consciousness going on in my mind, and oftentimes I find it picks up a theme. Sometimes it really runs with that theme and it will become a part of my life to one extent or another. I'm going to try to write about that, whatever that may prove to mean.

Leave a Reply

